Posted by: Bo | May 20, 2008

Measure up to Barbie

photo gallery- Megan’s 8th grade graduation, Ellen and her purple Barbie, Elizabeth and her pink Barbie

I would like to request a special prayer for Kinlee Mitchell.  Wednesday morning another set of TTTS twins, who had been operated on by Dr. Ball, were born at 27 weeks.  They were a little bigger than our girls but their ‘donor’ (like Elizabeth) was just as sick.  She experienced the same kidney problems and was not urinating.  This little one did not survive.  She passed away Thursday night.  Please remember her and her parents in your prayers.  They did have one survivor, Whitney, and she is doing well.  Let’s prayer for her strength too.

I am so sorry I did not post as promised last Friday.  Thursday was not a very good day and Elizabeth was having some trouble.  I was supposed to leave Thursday night for Megan’s graduation, but had to cancel my flight.  Elizabeth was having prolems breathing and her coloring was very pale.  They were worried and thought she might have some sort of infection.  They decided to give her blood, take some for testing and see if things would improve.  She was having many instances of Bradycardia (where she stops breathing) and this was very scary.  She improved over the night, no immediate signs of infection and the blood seemed to do the trick.  So with assurance from Dr. Lapine that he would take good care of her, I caught a flight early Friday morning. 

Friday night, well Saturday morning, 3:30 a.m., we did get a call from the doctor.  They were still having problems and decided to put Elizabeth back on the ventilator.  Needless to say, we did not sleep the rest of the night and had a hard time relaxing the rest of the weekend.  We tried to spend as much time with the KC kids as possible, they are really missing their mom….and their mom is really missing them!

I got back Sunday night to find Elizabeth looking much better.  Her coloring was back and she was breathing better on the vent.  Her blood culture came back and there were still no signs of infection.  They told me that preemies ‘just do this.’ She does not get very much formula and considering how hard they have to try to breathe, sometimes they just get tired.  Poor little sweetheart, she is working so hard and being so strong.  She got blood again yesterday and today they put her back on the CPAP (breathing machine between ventilator and nasal cannula).  She is gaining a little weight and I feel much more comfortable about her condition.  I really struggled through those days, it is harder than I thought to be out here alone…..no Bo to hug when I am scared.  Lucky for me I had my rosary to calm me down. I have been warned that this is just the beginning.  I have been on the TTTS rollercoaster, then the bedrest rollercoaster, and now I am riding the preemie rollercoaster…….it is too bad I get so motion sick on those things!  Where’s the Dramimine when you need it!

One of the nurses suggested that I get a Barbie to help measure the progress of the girls.  Such a good idea.  It gives a great scale to measure them against and an easy way to chart their progress.  So the pictures today are the first of many to be taken.  I continue to get love and support from all our friends and family, this is what gets me through.  When asked ‘what can we do for you?’, I always answer the same…’Please continue your prayers, I know He is listening.’  We are not out of the woods and Elizabeth made that perfectly clear last week.

As always, thanks for your love and prayers!

Stacy

Responses

  1. Stacy, Know that the prayers of so many are being lifted for your precious baby girls and the whole Govea family. I know that you will cherish the moment you can hold those sweet girls in your arms. You and Bo are an awesome team and amazing role models for your kids. Keep it up, Sister! We love you and miss you!

  2. Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer. From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe. I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings. (Psalm 61:1-4)

    Oh how we are still praying for your sweet Mary’s. We know that there are going to be many days that are going to be roller coasters, even when you get home. They will remain apart of our prayers forever. We wish that they didn’t have to work so hard at being so strong. Good thing they have strong Govea genes-Never give up!
    We will say our prayers for the Mitchell family and for their baby Whitney. We pray that all the girls will get stronger. We pray that you can find peace in your days without Bo to hold you. We all wish that we could wrap our arms around you, we hope that sending you our love this way is enough for now. Let the girls know that we love them and to keep fighting, we want to see them in your arms!
    It was good to see that you made it for Megan’s graduation- congratulations to her, she looked beautiful!
    May God carry you on the tough days and your girls lift you when they look into your eyes. Your a wonderful mom! We will all keep the faith.
    Love you and thinking of you constantly,

    Joseph, Lauren, Shelby,Joey,Alan,Grant and Lilly

  3. Hey Stacy!

    Look at that stunning, beautiful, gorgeous girl of yours!! I remember like yesterday when Megan was the Marys size! (Okay, maybe not quite that small ;> Although Steffen was calling her his girlfriend way before she was even born, so she probably WAS their size!) Do you think we can still convince her and Steffen that they have to get married?!

    The babies are beautiful as well…the Barbie idea is such a great one! It is so hard for us to even comprehend their tiny size, even looking at them laying next to the Barbie. But they both really look like they are getting stronger every time we see a picture. What a miracle!

    The Days are still praying for you and the whole family continually. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to be there without Bo…Stay strong and keep the faith. We will definately be praying for the other family there as well.

    “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

    We love you!

    Brandon, Lenaira, Steffen Keaton, Molly, and Harrison

  4. Stacy, Mrs. Brownie & I are in Montreux on business, attended mass in French, we continue to pray for Ellen & Elizabeth & their continued strength …and all the babies…..peace be with you…S.
    ps Thanks for the post, no worries when you don’t.

  5. Thanks Stacy,

    The good thing about rollercoasters is you always have faith that despite the scary ride, it will be over and all will be well. Your faith has been such a continuing inspiration for all of the folks who have hit this address 54,000 times…talk about loaves and fishes! We will continue to pray for all of you and be thrilled when you all come home to Kansas.

    Jerry

  6. Hi Stacy! I am so happy to see the girls with their first Barbies! What a great way to show their progress. I am sorry to hear what you went through last week. Hopefully this week will be a better one. What you are going through by yourself gives me strength as to what I am going through out here in California.
    Love to you and those sweet little girls,
    Andrea
    Hang in there! You have so many prayers being said for you!

  7. Hi Stacy,

    Congratulations to Megan! I’m glad you and Bo were both able to spend some time with her on her big weekend. She’s such a beautiful young lady.

    The pictures with the Barbies made me smile. I’ll look forward to more Barbie pics. Barbies always remind me of Megan (who gave Helen her first Barbie on her 2nd birthday).

    I noticed that your birthday is coming up. We are keeping your whole family in our prayers every day, of course, but perhaps especially you on your day. I hope you have a blessed one.

    Love,
    Jane

  8. Stacy,
    Can you believe You will have a highschooler!!! They grow up so fast. I am glad to hear the girls are doing good. You guys are always on my mind and in my prayers. I am just looking forward to you coming home so I can come for a visit and get my hands on your little angels. Please let me know if you need anything. Love Kerry

  9. Stacy, what beautiful girls you have. I can’t belive Megan is going to high school!! Weren’t we just there yesterday? Pretty sure we just learned our dance routine for the big Homecoming game! Jeez, and to think in a few more years, you will be doing the same thing all over again with both Mary’s!
    I love the Barbie pictures. Wow, they look so much longer in the previous pictures. Now it puts things into a little bit more perspective. What sweet babie dolls you have!!
    As always, we are keeping you and your family in our prayers. We will add the Mitchell family as well. God bless you, Stacy. You have always been so strong, and you still are.
    Happy early birthday!
    Love, the Straub’s

  10. Dear Goveas, my daughter, Katharine, recently met Bo on a flight that she was taking with her friends to Las Vegas. Upon Katharine’s return home, one of the 1st things she told me about her trip was the story of your twins. She then directed me to ‘The Marys” webpage and asked me to add them in our prayers. We will pray for their continued strength as well as yours. My sister-in-law is a volunteer for our local Ronald McDonald House here in Louisville so we are well aware of all the good things this organization does for families with loved ones in the hospital. Again, just know that prayers have been added from the Derby City. Martha Cruise.

  11. I’m glad your Marys are doing better. My heart goes out to The Mitchell family. I hate that there is nothing I can do to lessen their pain. You are both in my prayers and motivation to get a Fetal Hope 5K in SLC…now if I could just peel my kids off to get that going.

    The Barbies are a cute idea..I hope you do not mind me sharing it with others.

  12. Bo and Stacy,
    As the Memorial day weekend approaches and the Global Living Rosary is nearing I cannot help but thinking of you and your family. Know that I will be praying for all of you at Kaufman Stadium. The third mystery is always my favorite. It will be for you.

    The Lord is my light and my salvation whom do I fear? The Lord is my life’s refuge of whom am I afraid? Trust in the Lord. It’s obvious you do.

    Mike

  13. *~*~*~*HAPPY BIRTHDAY STACY!!!!!*~*~*~*

  14. Happy Birthday Stacy!!

    Sounds like Bo will be spending the day with you and the girls. Hope that you guys can enjoy the day together. Have a very Happy Birthday. May this years wishes come true, looks like so many have this far. Keep wishing and we will keep praying.

    Love you!
    The Brady Bunch
    xoxoxoxo

  15. HAPPY BIRTHDAY STACY!!!!!

    Still thinking about and praying for you and the Mary’s!!!

    Love,
    Curt, Elle, Tootie, Jacob & Emma

  16. Hi Stacy and Bo-

    We continue to think about you all and send you our best wishes.
    When thinking back to our two 1st graders getting on the bus together on Tyne Lane it’s hard to believe we have 8th graders ending their middle school years. Time sure flies!
    Congratulations to Meghan 🙂
    It’s good to hear the girls are doing well this week. Stay strong!

    Love,
    The Swansons

  17. Happy Belated Birthday Stacy…I hope you had a very blessed day.

    Congratulations to Megan on her graduation. Wow, I can’t believe how fast the kids are growing. She is such a beautiful young lady.

    Thank you for the posts to keep everyone updated. We so enjoy hearing how the girls are progressing.

    All of you are constantly in our thoughts and prayers. Continue to stay strong and believe.

    Love you all,
    Jerry, Melinda, Taylor & Payton

  18. i think of you every day. the girls are beautiful just like i imagined.im glad you got the care you needed-thinking of you lynn hathaway kcwc-sonographer


Leave a Reply

Categories

