Posted by: Bo | May 28, 2008

Two pounder!

 

photo gallery: 1,2.) Ellen, the two pounder, with her ‘leg out.’ 3.) Elizabeth with her blue chin strap 4.) Elizabeth’s hand 5.) Ellen’s hand 6.) Elizabeth’s foot 7.) Ellen’s foot  8.) Ellen pulling out her cannula

 We’ve got a two pounder amoungst us!  Mary Ellen weighed in at exactly 2 lbs. last night.  This is quite an accomplishment.  She is starting to look more like a baby and less like a little bird without feathers.  Bo calls them ‘Mr. Bigglesworth’ from Austin Powers…. so true.  Mary Elizabeth is still inching along and is now 1 lb. 9 oz.  This is good for her considering she was down to 1 lb. 3 oz. at her lowest.  We figure she is about two weeks behind her sister so look for her to start putting some meat on those bones.  The nurses are always giving Elizabeth a hard time and calling her a ‘trouble-maker.’  She has her episodes of Apnea and Bradycardias quite often during the day and they claim she is just seeking extra attention.  She does have a habit of doing this when I am at Ellen’s isolette…..and believe it or not, Ellen does it when I am talking to Elizabeth.  The competition for attention has started!  I now get to change their diapers and take their temperature.  All the nurses know that mom likes to do their ‘cares’ (as they call them).  This is done every three hours and then they move them to another position.  The pictures of Ellen are quite funny in regards to her positioning.  If you’ll notice, she always has to have ‘one leg out.’  No matter how they put her, she always adjusts her position and ends up that way.  She is also getting a rep for taking out her nasal cannula or her feeding tube.  They retape that feeding tube several times a day!  And then the pictures of Elizabeth are funny too.  She has been having some problems with her oxygen levels but all her tests were coming out normal.  The nurse today made a good observation.  Her air comes in through her nose but Elizabeth always has her mouth wide open….hmmm.  So she decided to put this blue strap around her chin to keep her mouth closed.  It is totally rigged!  The blue strap is usually used to protect their eyes when under the lights.  She did do better though!  She is going to hate these pictures, but I had to post them because they made me laugh.  Poor thing always has something taped to her face.  Then I put in a couple of pictures to compare their hands and feet.  It’s kinda hard to tell in the pictures, but 7 ounces makes quite a difference at their size.

This has been a good couple of days.  I have felt like I was in a dream since we arrived in Utah.  Some days I felt I was having an outer body experience.  Then the girls were born and still it seemed to be a dream.  Everytime I looked at baby things or tried to think about how I wanted to decorate their nursery, I just couldn’t, it didn’t feel right.  Something changed though on Friday.  Holding our girls in my arms made it all real.  I have finally been able to feel the JOY…..and it is wonderful.  The girls did so well when I held them (didn’t lose their body temperature and didn’t stop breathing), that now I get to hold them once a week.  I am SO glad Bo will be in town this time because I can’t wait for him to feel that same joy!  Just feeling their cheeks against mine and smelling their baby breath…..well you all know! AWESOME!  I am hanging in there and the encouraging words in your posts have been wonderful…..thank you all. 

We really are blessed to have ALL of you in our lives.  Your prayers, your cards, your words, your love…..we can’t thank you enough. You are our faithful friends…… 

‘A faithful friend is a sturdy shelter; he who finds one finds a treasure. A faithful friend is beyond price, no sum can balance his worth.’ (Sirach 6:14-15)

Love, Stacy

Responses

  1. Oh my goodness! Love the pictures and love the great news. I check the website every day and get so excited when there is a new post and pictures. The Rinks love you all so much and miss you tons. It’ll be fantastic when you are back home and we can come visit and hold those little girls. Oh, and bows in their hair! I can’t imagine how tiny those bows are. Who makes those anyway… elves?

    All our love and prayers going out to you in SLC!

    The Rinks

  2. You will have courage because you will have hope.
    Job 11:18

    Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But with God everything is possible.
    Matthew 19:26

    Mary & Mary pray for us…..
    some inquire why I ask the twins to pray for us, when we are praying for them, I’ll defer to Matthew…

    God blesses those whose hearts are pure, for they will see God.
    Matthew 5:8

    amen

  3. The girls look beautiful!! They have come so far in just a month! It is wonderful that you are able to hold them, and do your nurturing
    motherly “cares”. I am sure this helps keep your spirits up. You are a busy mom now.
    I find myself thinking of you when I give my children hugs. You have helped us realize that there are so many wonderful moments right in front of our eyes that we take for granted.
    Love all the pictures- nice to see Ellen is able to relax and get comfortable.
    Payers of love and praise go out to you!

    Love,
    Joe,Lo,Shelby,Joey,Alan,Grant and Lillian

  4. Stacy, I can just see the smile on your face as you were writing this today. I am so happy the girls are doing. I like Stacy Rink, check the website daily and get excited to see good news each time. Keep your faith and before you know it, you and the girls will be home. Love ya Kerry

  5. Stacy,
    I can hear the JOY in your post and your right , it is a wonderful thing. I know it is a miraculous thing the kind of joy your child can bring to you, and you are doubley blessed! It is amazing that they are already developing their little personalities, each one equaly entertaining. Kiss them both for us and know that we are always sending loving thoughts and prayers your way.
    Love,
    Brandy

  6. The girls look beautiful!! They have come so far in just a month! It is wonderful that you are able to hold them, and do your nurturing
    motherly “cares”. It sounds like your spirits are up and the sunshine is shining! You are going to be such a busy mom, not that you weren’t before.
    I find myself thinking of you when I give my children hugs and kisses. You have helped us realize that there are so many wonderful moments right in front of our eyes that we take for granted.
    We love and appreciate all the pictures- nice to see Ellen is able to relax and get comfortable.
    Payers of love and praise go out to you!

    Love,
    Joe,Lo,Shelby,Joey,Alan,Grant and Lillian

    p.s. you might get this comment twice it says that it is awaiting moderation and that was at 10:00am, so I reprinted it.

  7. Glad to hear things are continuing to improve for the twins. We are keeping you all in our prayers.

  8. Stacy, how exciting! You are right! there is nothing better than the feel of a newborns skin and the smell!! Why can’t someone figure out how to bottle that up??? I’m positive I would stick that scent in every room, in my car, but especially on my pillow case. Could you image the sweet dreams you would get with that???

    I’m so happy you are able to hold your little girls and change their diapers. i can only imagine how cute those little diapers are!!

    Look at your little ladies! Already fighting for your attention and showing off their true personalities! Ellen must be hot blooded and always kicking off her blanket and Elizabeth sounds like the stubborn one. Adorable!

    Stacy, it’s so good to hear the joy coming out now. what a true blessing this is. Keep up the strength! We love you.
    The Straubs

  9. never has 2 pounds looked so good, yeah Mary Ellen! and Mary Elizabeth, you go get your sister now! Stacy, remember when Elizabeth’town’ was just a movie now look what the name means, who knew?! I do believe those named Elizabeth do like to get the attention (he he). Your family is continually in our thoughts and prayers, love to you all.

    xoxo

  10. Stacy, your post brought tears to my eyes! What a wonderful feeling to cuddle those babies! We are continuing to think of your family and pray for you often… We miss you here in good old Oxford Mills!

    🙂 Bridget Hess


Leave a Reply

Categories

