Posted by: Bo | July 11, 2008

Rub a dub dub….two girls in a tub!

Photo Gallery- 1-3.) Ellen getting her bath 4-6.) Elizabeth getting her bath 7.) Ellen and Barbie 8.) Elizabeth and Barbie 9.) Elizabeth in her head box

We got baths!  Boy, eleven weeks can really take a toll.  Its hard to believe they have never had one.  So today we did our best to get the girls clean.  Ellen got the full meal deal, while Elizabeth got a spit bath in her isolette…..no matter, they both look and smell much better.  I do love baby lotion!

While I was at it, I decided it was time for another Barbie picture.  I can still picture our first time and it really made me recognize how far they have come. The difference is amazing!  Ellen is dwarfing her Barbie, while Elizabeth is finally  measuring up to hers.  We are weighing in at 4 lbs. 14 oz. and 3 lbs. 8 oz.  Ellen is even outgrowing the preemie clothes! 

Mostly good news from Utah today.  The girls are really improving in regards to their oxygen needs.  Elizabeth was having such a hard time and all the suctioning was just irritating her poor little nose.  Most of the time they would get blood from her nose.  It was swollen and raw. They decided to put her in a ‘head box’ and give her nose a break from all the high flow oxygen.  This is moist air just contained in a plastic box.  This proved to be a great idea.  She loves it in there.  Most of the time they have a hard time fitting the babies’ heads in these boxes, but Elizabeth can fit half her body in it!  Anyway, she is in heaven and her oxygen needs have plummeted.  Believe it or not, she is on LESS oxygen than Ellen now!  Just to tell you how amazing this is, she was on 2 1/2 liters more than Ellen just a couple weeks ago (believe me, this is huge).  The only problem was that she had to go back to tube feedings and no more bottles.  This puts her a little behind on that, but the improvement  in her oxygen is more important in my mind.  We are now trying to feed her a couple times a day by just putting in the cannula for the feeding and then back to the box.  Ellen’s feedings are going awesome.  She does two by mouth and one by tube, then two more and then one, etc.  This leaves her with only 3 feeding a day by the tube.  Since the goal is all by bottle, this is getting her very close!

Our only concern right now is the eyes.  Ellen  is looking at little better this week, and Elizabeth is a little worse.  The eye doctor comes every Wednesday.  He is not totally concerned just yet, but definitely doesn’t want them to get any worse.  So the prayer of the week is for healthy eyes.  The Blessed Mother and I are on it!

No word on any definite dates for departure, so we are just relaxing and trying not to think about it.  Bo is coming in town on the 15th, as we will be celebrating our 15th anniversary.  Wow!!!  It was only yesterday that Bo was singing to me at our wedding…..or was it 100 years ago…..not sure some days.  Then the kids will be coming out and are all hoping to get a chance to HOLD the girls.  I just count on these things to make the days go by faster and get me a few days closer to our homecoming….and what a celebration that will be!

Hope all is well with everyone and you are enjoying summer break.  Lots of time for family fun and vacations….take advantage!

Love to all,

Stacy

Responses

  1. Unbelievable! These pictures are so incredible! I cannot believe how much they have grown and how wide their eyes are. These pictures are some of the best ever. Thank you for posting again so quickly and continuing to share this with us. We will start praying for good eyes and continued growth.

  2. Yeah, how exciting giving them their first bath. Nothing smells better than a newborn baby! I was excited to see another post, wasn’t expecting that at all-Thank you! They are growing so quickly! Those are going to be some special Barbies when they get older! They are beautiful and I wish I could hold them now.
    I hope that you and Bo have a very Happy Anniversary! Maybe you can try that restraunt that I told you about?! You will have to ask around and see if anyone has eaten there.
    Enjoy the days they are moving right along now. We will pray that their eye sight improves and all goes well. God will bless you, we just need to continue our prayers. This is what we will do until they are home in their cribs next to one another.

    Love you guys-
    The Brady’s

  3. I am just now reading about the journey your family is on. Just seeing the pics of those 2 beautiful little miracles brought memories flooding back for me. My son was delivered at 25 weeks weighing 1 lb. 3 oz. If you want to take a moment and look on my myspace page, I have photos of him. And if you just need to talk to someone from KC who has spent long hours in the NICU, please feel free to e-mail me. I will be sending lots of prayers out for those little princesses!
    Remember, dynamite comes in small packages!!

    Jen and Tucker

  4. And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen
    I Peter 5.

  5. Bo & Stacy – We just read about your little Miracles in this morning’s KC Star. We are also members of Ascension and our little Miracle was born on May 26 weighing 1 lb and 1 oz. He is in the NICU at Overland Park Regional. He is doing well and now weighs 2 lbs and 9 oz. We will follow your blog and pray for your precious Marys. Please keep our son, Matthew David in your prayers also. Sure hope that we can meet someday and introduce our special little children.

  6. Thanks Stacy for the photos and the update. The eyes have it! (on the prayer list). Steve summed it up so well with that great scripture – if we are able to know God, we can have faith – without Him, we are weak and lost. I know you’ve had to put on your armor many times to get through this, but He has made you strong, firm and steadfast. I just love to take a quick look every day at the photos – they are an inspiration for me and remind of God’s love for us. May God continue to grant you the patience to accept His timing and will. Blessings, Jerry

  7. Goveas, Chris read the KC Star article to me and wow! What little celebs the “Marys” are! If you are ever in town, Stac, give me a call and I’ll take care of you! God Bless and stay strong!

  8. Stacy, I have loved reading your blog this summer! I check it daily and pray continually for all of you. These pictures bring back so many memories for me with my own preemie twins. My mom called me today to tell me about your article in the newspaper.

    http://www.kansascity.com/115/story/701949.html

    The link above is what I found on the internet. It’s amazing to think of all of your followers and prayer friends. Know that we will continue to pray, and we know all of you will be home soon! Hang in there!!!
    With love, Kerry

  9. Stacy & Bo – We read about your little Miracles in today’s KC Star. We are also members of Ascension and our little Miracle was born May 26 weighing 1 lb 1 oz. He is in the NICU at Overland Park Regional. He is now up to 2 lbs 10 oz and it sounds like we are going through the same process that you guys are. We will pray for Ellen and Elizabeth and we ask your prayers for our son, Matthew David. Hopefully, we can meet you and your family some day and introduce our little Miracles to each other. Take care

  10. Stacy,
    I agree, there is nothing sweeter than the smell of a freshly bathed baby. I love how soft their hair and skin feel. You have waited a long time for that first bath and I am so glad you shared the pictures with us. Both girls look wonderful. I can’t get over how much they both change from week to week. We will keep those precious little eyes in our prayers this week and look forward to good news soon. Happy anniversary!
    Love,
    Brandy

  11. I THINK OF YOU EVERY DAY SINCE I DID YOUR SONOGRAM.I ALWAYS ASK ABOUT YOU WHEN I SEE DR BISHOP.I LOOKED ON YOUR WEB SITE-THE GIRLS ARE BEAUTIFUL.I WILL PRAY FOR GOOD EYES.DROP ME A LINE SOME TIME.THINKING OF YOU-LYNN HATHAWAY.KCWC


Leave a Reply

Categories

