Posted by: Bo | August 7, 2008

Little miracles……

photo gallery-these sweet little outfits were a gift from our cousins, the Brady’s and the Wessman’s, in Minnesota.  How cute are they!  (Notice the wings even on the socks)  Once again, our wonderful nurses help out with a photo shoot.  I will let you guess who is who.  Ellen is 6 lbs 11 oz. and Elizabeth is 5 lbs 11 oz!

Hey everyone!  We are still hanging tight in Utah and getting closer everyday to coming home.  Just this week, the doctors and I were talking ‘exit plans’.  Now that is exciting!!!

There is alot to know before bringing these preemies home.  We need to find out about the neonatal follow up program available in KC.  We need to make sure we order the oxygen tanks for home (both will be going home on oxygen).  I need to contact a pediatric eye doctor for follow up on the eyes.  I won’t bore you with the rest, but much, much more. 

Next, we are trying to make plans with the airlines for the girls oxygen needs.  We are finding that most airlines won’t even permit it.  They basically refused to let us on.  We did finally find out that Delta will accommodate us, but they need a copy of the doctors orders to permit it.  We will have oxygen and monitors for the trip.  This will help with the anxiety of travel, especially as we ascend and descend- wish they could figure out how to dismiss all the germs too!

We did have a little trouble today with Miss Elizabeth.  She now has kidney stones.  They were giving her supplements for her bones (calcium carbonate & potassium phosphate).  Instead of absorbing into her bones, it stayed in her kidneys and caused the stones.  They have discontinued the supplements and hope they will reabsorb.  Poor little thing…..again, a strong girl that shows no outward signs of pain or discomfort.  Sometimes I think she doesn’t know what ‘good’ feels like.  They put an IV in her head the other day and she didn’t even cry.  I can’t wait to get her home and just love on her!

Ellen is doing great!  She is ready, ready, ready.  Today she even went on room air (no oxygen) for three hours.  When I left she was still hangin’ tough.  I wouldn’t be surprised if she was back on tomorrow, but these little steps are promising.  The doctors think the girls will only be on oxygen for a little while once we get home.  As we move away from the 7000 ft of elevation to sea level living in Kansas, the girls will have a much easier time.  So for Ellen we just need the sign off from the eye doctor and confidently expect that to happen on Wednesday.  Ellen should be released next Thursday or Friday.  Praise God!

With Elizabeth, we are trying to be patient.  She is not quite at full feeds and still has her eye issues.  If she could start taking a bottle at every feeding, we could be close with her too.  I know to never lose faith with this little one.  She has pulled through on more than one occasion!

Anyway, I am going to KC this weekend to get the kids ready for school.  We need school supplies and uniforms.  I always love getting everyone ready and don’t want to miss out.  Just in case I can’t get back before the first day of classes (which has secretly been my wish since they were born), I want to make sure that the OP kids are ready.  I do know that Bo is completely capable of doing this, but there is something about it that I love and I don’t want to miss out on.  Summer went by so quickly and here we are staring at another school year….wow!

I knew this time would prove to be difficult in its own way.  I want to be there for the kids as they start school, especially Megan who is starting HIGH SCHOOL!  But don’t want the girls to lose any ground, as we are soooooo close.  I am praying everyday for patience, patience and strength to get through this.  I even resorted to going back through some of my faith filled letters from friends and wonderful words of encouragement.  This was a life- saver this week.  You have all touched me in so many ways and your words inspire me to hang in there.  Thank you again for all your support, it means more than I can say.

Much love,

Stacy

Responses

  1. Hey Stacey and Bo! Boy oh boy you have some cute little angels there!!! I just love seeing all the pictures and noticing how much they have grown and changed. Amazing! My favorite pics are the ones with them snuggled up right next to each other. I am with you, Stacey. I can’t believe how summer has come and gone and school is right around the corner. So glad you have time back in OP before school starts and we especially can’t wait for you to be home for good with those little girls. You are such an inspiration….all of your family is! As always, the prayers are with you!

    Buffy

  2. So precious! Seeing them in those angel outfits and thinking of all the love and support that you have received, that you have offered to each other, and that the Marys will no doubt share in a special way as twins brings to mind a quote I have always loved:

    “We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly while embracing each other.”

    Your “flight” is inspiring. We continue to pray for your family.

    Love,
    Jane

  3. Stacey,

    Your girls are little miracles. I pray that they will continue to grow and progress every day so you can be reunited with Bo and your three other “miracles”. Enjoy back-to-school shopping! We just finished. Once they start high school it goes by so fast — I can’t believe Shannon is a sophmore!

    PRAYING for you and your sweet family. Stay in the word and on your knees and HE will get you through each day. 🙂

    Blessings,

  4. If we all had gaurdian angels as sweet as yours!! You know that selfishly we sent those outfits in hopes of seeing them in them. They are more precious than we imagined!
    We are still in awe of Gods miracles. They are healthy and strong! You should think of writing a book. Your story will encourage everyone to find hope and faith in God.
    We hope that you have fun shopping with the kids this weekend! This should give you a boost to make it to the finish line. You are almost there and there is a huge crowd cheering for you at the end!
    Still wishing we could see you guys and give everyone hugs and kisses. Take care and say hi to the family this weekend.

    Love you tons!
    The Brady Bunch

  5. Oh Stacy
    I am teared up…they are soo cute with their little hands tucked under their chins!I look at them everyday to remind myself of the faith youve had and the endless possibilities of hope and the amazing power of prayer!
    Wont be long till you are stroling them in the neighborhood
    God Bless you all
    YSIC
    Susanne

  6. Stacy and Bo, How precious those girls are. I know you can’t wait to get them home and I know. the other kids can’t wait for them and YOU to be back home. I can’t wait for this years Christmas card!!!! Take care and know you all are in our thoughts and prayers EVERYDAY. Love The Zichecks

  7. I am keeping your sweet miracles in my prayers! They are true testaments to the power of God’s Love.

    God Bless,

    Molly


Leave a Reply

Categories

